Lemon Grass Cafe in Bellaire

Until this place opened a few years ago, there was no fine dining in Bellaire worth the name. Lemon Grass Cafe is consistently delicious, and amazingly reasonable. We’ve gone for the Valentine’s day tasting menu, taking care to split the wine since we weren’t walking home. We have taken my parents, and found it accessible for my mom. We’ve eaten duck, scallops and shrimp, vegetarian lasagne, pounded chicken sesame. I had the chicken a couple of nights ago. Just when I was thinking it might be a tad dry, I noticed the nice little bowl of sauce for dipping, I assumed. Tans and khaki dominate the colors. It has some good drinks, my daughter says. Why should it be so hard to get a good meal in Bellaire? Well, it used to be hard to get anything good in Houston, decades ago. I remember when Kaphans, where Kirby, and Old Spanish Trail converge was the best there was. I was taken there for my job interview at Rice, in 1979 by Charlie Stewart. We had oysters Rockefeller, and talked and talked. And I got the job.IMG_8365 IMG_8366 IMG_8367 IMG_8371 IMG_8372

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

