Best Free Party in Town – at the Art Museum

Apparently you have to get to be about 63.5 years old to figure out about the best free party in town. It is at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston and is only for members. My friend Evan told me about this awhile ago, and I’ve always wanted to go. If you go regularly and guzzle the free wine, and eat the free non-organic strawberries, and under-ripe brie, it makes the membership worthwhile. No fur coats yet, but plenty of women with improbably red hair, wearing the very short skirts and tights that suit, um, some…

Well, the art makes the membership worthwhile. I was shamed into loving our great art museum by a Dutch grad student of ours, Eva Tóth. I had made a disparaging comment, comparing it to the great museums of Europe, and she said, really, I should go back, and check it out. If she liked it, I had better go!Eva is the star of this video which can be downloaded: Social Conflict in the hive. I tried to put it live on the site and got in trouble. David Brown made this great video.

We didn’t go for the cheap white wine, and so ducked past the food barricades and made it up to the featured exhibits. It’s fun to go at night, when everything is open, few are there, and we could spend a short time enjoying the art. I bet my grand parents, or great grandparents knew the Berlin painter, Max Liebermann. I was delighted to see the single Diego Rivera and Frieda Kahlo. I carefully took no flash photos, and was reprimanded nevertheless. The friendly people around me told me to hold the camera lower, conspiring with me so I could show you what I saw. I don’t know how to do an accent grave on the keyboard, so sorry.

Driving home on Bissonnet we saw quite the line outside at Kay’s and Dave slowed down out of respect for our own possibly tipsy students. Tomorrow it’s into the field! Brazos Bend!

IMG_8478

No flash at the museum!

IMG_8480

Pierre Bonnard, French 1867-1947, Nu a l’intérieur

IMG_8482

Paul-Albert Besnard, French 1849-1934, Morphine addicts 1887

IMG_8484

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, French, 1864-1901 At the table of monsieur and madame Natanson, 1898

IMG_8488

Diego Rivera, 1886-1957, Jojo 1949

IMG_8490

Frieda Kahlo, 1907 – 1954, Moses, 1945

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Museums and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Free Party in Town – at the Art Museum

  1. I love your unpretentious review. Improbable red hair! Made me laugh out loud because one of my co-workers (50 years old) is an artist and dyes her hair that very shade. I love Frida Kahlo and, I don’t know why, I cry each time I see the movie Frida.

What do you think?

