Shipley has the best donuts in town

OK, you probably think I’m a real phony for complaining about excellent but unbalanced food elsewhere, if I eat donuts. But the thing about a donut is you know what you are getting. I remember when I could eat six of these. I remember when I cut back to three, and stayed there until my youngest son, Philip, went to college. Now I eat them maybe once a year. But I remember. The glazed donuts are usually hot at the Shipley, and when you eat them, sugar, chewiness, and fat combine for a glorious eating experience. Cut the fat with coffee, well creamed.

It was warm and cloudy today, and the winter birds are here. A whole flock of cowbirds was eating intently in the grass outside Shipley’s donuts. I didn’t see any tiny cowbird-sized donuts, so I’m guessing the St. Augustine grass was seeded with rye for winter greenery, and the birds were carefully removing those seeds. This was a single-species flock of only around 30, not like the thousands swirling, landing, flying up again at Wesleyan and the SW Freeway that I saw at dusk.

I gave the workmen the remaining donuts to take with them, then admired our stripped down yard. A single hermit thrush hopped around the bare spots, pausing, then pecking. Two mockingbirds came over to check out the leaf pile, but quickly left.

IMG_0155

It’s a quick drive, or 1.2 miles to bike, walk, or run here.

IMG_0164

Yes, if you’re wondering, they were warm. Glazed is the only kind to get.

IMG_0171

I’m starving for another!

IMG_0159

Cowbirds in the grass.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shipley has the best donuts in town

  1. Danny says:

    Miller and I got Shipley’s this morning! Its been a Sunday family tradition for years, though obviously given your penchant for healthy eating, this was not a weekly thing 🙂

    We got mostly glazed and then some chocolate/strawberry iced. Yum! Best donuts in the *country*, not just in town as far as I’m concerned. The west coast (or Oregon, anyway) does not know how to do donuts.

What do you think?

