The things that get left behind after Christmas – Maíz cancha chulpe para tostar

The family is gone, or mostly gone. They’ve left stuff behind, mostly dust, presents, unmade beds needing clean sheets. And some strange ingredients, undoubtedly from Fiesta. This one I tried to cook. It was only after I spread the corn on the griddles and they started to pop that I feared I was cooking popcorn! But I wasn’t. The kernels browned nicely, and are delicious, salted, just like the bag says.

Thanks, Julio! Maybe next visit I can learn how these are eaten in Peru. I love having an international family!

IMG_2083

When are they done? Now?

IMG_2088

Tell me the story of Maíz chancha!

IMG_2085

Is this really how to cook them? It’s what I did, and they are yummy! Maybe they’ll be gone in the morning, if Philip comes home with friends.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The things that get left behind after Christmas – Maíz cancha chulpe para tostar

  1. Anna says:

    Ja ja! That was me that left those there…we had planned to make them for the Cousin’s fiesta…or as an appetizer to go with little sandwhiches…it is Peruvian popcorn or “Cancha”. The delicious variety. You can get the bags of unpopped corn at Fiesta in the Peruvian aisle. There are different types of corn kernels, I like that kind – the tiny kind. Looks like you did it just right. You just toast them up, wait til they start popping like crazy. I usually do it a little more like US popcorn because those boogers can fly. You can also add lemon juice and rocoto and salt and eat it with a spoon…tasty tasty! There’s nothing quite like it when drinking beer or after a long hike…

  2. I think they would be good hiking food! They went fast, so delicious!

What do you think?

