Dolce Vita, Italian food worth eating

A nearly burnt, saltine cracker-like crust, and the merest hint of toppings is what you’ll find called a pizza in Tuscany, and these pizzas at Dolce Vita were not like that. But they were delicious, much closer to real italian than most. Some might even like them more than an authentic one!

It is very unlike me, but before we could get going I ordered the appetizers for all of us, octopus, anchovies, beets, fennel. I wanted to photograph them, and so I did! Dolce Vita is Italian worth going to in Houston, not too expensive, pretty authentic, even though it’s missing the article and should be La Dolce Vita! The wines are all Italian, and there are some good ones. I don’t comment much on wines, perhaps because I’m terminally cheap, and have broad tastes. One of the many memoirs set in Italy that I read mentioned serving a very good aged wine, mellow and tannic, to a native workman in the village. He famously said that he liked it, but that it didn’t “polish his teeth.” I knew just what he meant. I can get really nostalgic over the thin, slightly sour Tuscan wines that are everyday drinking, bottled in unlabeled bottles from close by.

But about Dolce Vita. Go. These appetizers are only $5 each, so you can order a bunch of them. Then get a pizza. It’s dark; it’s fun. The food passes my aroma test.

IMG_4275.JPG

Octopus and greens, delicious.

IMG_4276.JPG

Fresh anchovies, what I came back for.

IMG_4278.JPG

Beets, walnuts, onions.

IMG_4279.JPG

Fennel, could have been sliced a little more thickly.

IMG_4281.JPG

Arugula, parmesan, and truffle oil made for a delicious pizza.

IMG_4283.JPG

Eggplant always seems decadent to me, and this did not disappoint.

IMG_4282.JPG

I don’t much like calzone, but Rick did.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dolce Vita, Italian food worth eating

  1. Neil says:

    I’ve been here after it was recommended by a friend. It’s quite unassuming from the outside, but once within, I was transported straight Italy. I had a total salt overload: olives, anchovies and capers on my pizza!

What do you think?

