We sold our home in Houston

I like to think of the new owners happily exploring the corners and crannies of our home. I hope they love all the bookcases and shelves. I hope new stuffed animals will ring the rooms on the shelves a foot below the ceiling. I hope they lean across the island, chatting with family and friends as they cook on our wonderful gas stove. I hope they make pizza in the double oven. I hope the kids leave their toys all over the huge tile expanses of the den. Most of all, I hope those little boys learn to love nature as they explore the small forest we left ringing the back yard. I hope they discover spiders, doodlebugs, and the harmless little earth snakes back there. I hope their natural imagination runs wild as they explore the small scale of our piece of nature. I hope the doves and Cooper’s hawk continue to visit. Houston, you are still much in our thoughts and hearts.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Education, Environment, Family, Houston. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We sold our home in Houston

  1. njbuttery says:

    Congrats and commiserations on selling the house. It must feel weird?

What do you think?

