Everyone’s writing about pancakes, but these are the best!

I love pancakes, but don’t make them often enough. I understand that if I were a member of a certain religion, I might have had pancakes yesterday, then not again for 40 or so days. In fact, it is the recipes from yesterday that inspired me to make pancakes for dinner. I used an American take on the excellent recipe posted by Neil Buttery on British Food.

I was excited to see a recipe with Cream of Tartar since I have some in the cupboard and have never, in my memory, used it. I would venture to say it is not necessary if the batter is acid enough, for then the baking soda (bicarbonate of soda) will do alone, though the quantity might have to be increased. I modified Neil’s recipe since I found measuring out 6 rounded tablespoons too much work. I figured it is half a cup, since 6 regular tablespoons is 0.375 of a cup. I also figured Americans are more likely to have Kefir on hand than the various sour milks and creams the English have. These pancakes are very tender, have more egg than some, and are absolutely delicious. They are soft in a way that a crepe never is.

I’ll call them Buttery Pancakes, for Neil. This recipe serves two people of normal appetite.

Buttery Pancakes

0.5 cup flour

2 tablespoons sugar

0.5 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

0.5 cup kefir or buttermilk or even yogurt

0.5 teaspoon baking soda (the stuff in the orange box)

1 tablespoon cream of tartar

0.25 cup water

Put the baking soda and the cream of tartar in the quarter cup of water and let it fizz.

Mix together flour, sugar, salt, eggs, kefir, and stir only a little.

Add the fizzy water and stir just enough to mix.

Cook in a hot frying pan greased with butter. Turn when bubbly with a spatula. I can’t flip them the way Neil does.

Serve with maple syrup and butter, with some fresh fruit on the side.

We enjoyed them with a nice glass of wine.

IMG_5257.JPG IMG_5256.JPG IMG_5261.JPG IMG_5260.JPG

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyone’s writing about pancakes, but these are the best!

  1. buttery77 says:

    GReat stuff Joan – thanks for thinking the recipe was worth trying, you did a great job of modifying it to what was in the store cupboard too. I made a batch and ate the whole thing to myself, and I didn’t even feel guilty!

What do you think?

