Peach mango chutney is the first thing I learned to can

DSC06007If you live in St. Louis and love chutney, then I may have a jar for you. I don’t think we can eat all 22 pints I just canned today. This chutney is delicious. It is a blend of savory and sweet, rich with fruits and spices. It is also a blend of cultures since this chutney is a distant cousin to what would be called a pickle in Indian cuisine. The British brought it in. This stuff is much better than that nasty Earl Grey’s stuff. He should have stuck to tea, though I don’t much like a good tea to be overwhelmed by bergamot.

This chutney is just the thing to have on the side of a plate of rice, or dal, or atop a pork roast. It is modified from a recipe I wrote in the back of my copy of Joy of Cooking about 20 years ago.

I canned these jars in either hot water or under pressure in my new pot. They have so much vinegar, it was probably not necessary, but I like to be safe.

I used mostly measures by weight. It is so much easier than anything else. I hope you have bought yourself a scale by now.DSC05977

Peach Mango ChutneyDSC05980

1 quart cider vinegar ( I know I’m mixing measures here, about a liter)

1.5 kg mango flesh, fresh (about 10 Atulfo)

4.0 kg peeled fresh peaches (about 30)

0.5 kg red peppers

1.0 kg chopped onion (I used 4 red onions)

200 g jalapeños, sliced (5)

100 g fresh ginger, sliced or ground (about 4 inches)

200 g brown sugar (piloncillo ideally)

100 g garlic (2 heads)

500 g raisins (golden is best)

400 g lemons, whole, sliced, omitting the ends

10 g cloves

10 g cinnamon

10 g cardamon

10 g allspice

Mix it all together and heat. Spoon into jars and sterilize following some real instructions. This is serious business. Makes far too much. All quantities can be changed as can the ingredients. I added another couple of kilos of peaches because the other stuff threatened to overwhelm.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

