Pickled carrots and jalapeños/ zanahorias y jalapeños en escabeche

DSC06012  Did you ever eat at Chapultepec’s on Bissonnet? I don’t know if it is still open or the same. But it used to start with a thin squash soup. The pickled carrots and jalapeños were on the table, slightly greasy with a little oregano and onion floating in the vinegary juice. The soup, the escabeche, and a corn tortilla almost made the meal for me.

I haven’t seen these pickled vegetables here, so I thought I would make some.  As usual, I made far too much, the fault of the glorious produce at Soulard. I guess 12 pints will last us quite awhile. I did not water down the vinegar the way a lot of recipes call for. DSC05967I used equal amounts of carrots and jalapeños since I like both. I chopped up the onions though, and crushed the garlic. I used oregano and thyme, both from the garden. The bay leaf was dry, much too old. I should have bought some fresh leaves at Soulard.

Pickled carrots and jalapeños

1 kg jalapeños, sliced

1 kg carrots, slicedDSC05970

0.3 kg onions, chopped (I used red)

1 head garlic, smashed

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp thyme

4 bay leaves

quarter cup olive oil

3 cups cider vinegar (I used white)

Fry the herbs, garlic, and onions in the olive oil. Add the vegetables. Add the vinegar. Put in jars and sterilize. This probably keeps fine with no sterilizing, but I do it anyway.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

