Away with decorative pillows!

IMG_2794Sleep is one of life’s great pleasures. It helps us process complexity. It renews, refreshes, and makes us fit for companionship, human and otherwise. It is snuggly, even sexy. In the winter it is warm and cozy. In the summer the heat can feel drunken.

If I’m tired, I can look up at any yellow lit window and wish I were home in my snug beg. So the last thing I want to do when I’m about to dive under the covers is remove a bunch of extra pillows, particularly the fat, flowery kind, not even good for reading, but only to adorn the bed. A pillow on a couch might help with support. But why mess with the perfection of a bed? Why make me scoop a bunch of leaden bolsters onto the floor to trip on during the night?

Do pillows make a bed seem like something it is not? Are we embarrassed about our beds? Is it a Southern thing? A Northern or Western or even Eastern thing? Does a hotel get an extra star if they have enough pillows? I don’t know.

I don’t get the extra bolsters, just as I don’t get the knicknacks on tables in rooms meant for guests to use. But I do like to travel, so I’ll just keep shoving those lumps onto the floor and luxuriating in sleep! I’ll have some right now!

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in bed and breakfast, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

